How skiing powder taught me everything I need to know about life

Learning to ski powder is harder than it looks. It involves tangled crashes, snow-caked goggles, and plenty of frustration. And mastering powder requires loads of patience and repetition. Sometimes, it may even require rethinking your approach to getting what you want. I got a crash course in powder skiing when I joined the Mammoth Mountain ski patrol in 2006. What I did not expect was that lessons I learned on the mountain would help me navigate even bigger challenges in life, like surviving my PhD and deciding what comes next. Take a listen to this episode of the Dirtbag Diaries if you want to hear my story.

Skiing in the Wallowa Mountains, OR. Photo courtesy of a generous ski buddy.
Skiing powder in the Wallowa Mountains, OR. Photo courtesy of a generous ski buddy.
2 thoughts on “How skiing powder taught me everything I need to know about life

  1. just heard your story on the dirtbag diaries. i’m not much of a skier, but your story hit very close to home, especially “find balance, keep calm, choose my next line.” congrats julia rosen and break a leg on defending the phd.

Leave a Reply

